homecoming (poetry)

Samantha Maposa
Feb 11, 2023

--

I found her buried beneath the floorboards

lifeless and beautiful like a doll

just as I had forgotten her

it was months ago, when I returned from starting my life in the city

where I folded and turned my insides out

tried to melt into big shoes and wear clothes too small

where I wore face paint to become a mimicry

of all those who were wanted

I let them enter in and out-

bell ringing, a new customer has arrived-

sell yourself, sell yourself for their presence, for their eyes

I brushed her coiled knots and gave her a wash

taught her how to speak and write again

found her the right shoes and best clothes

wiped off the dust that called her body home

I told her I needed her back

and we merged into a new and better stranger

--

--